February 10th, 2020

Fraudsters create cloned website of Assetz Capital

Peer-to-peer bridging and development lender Assetz Capital has warned investors that fraudsters have created a cloned version of its website.

Assetz Capital has urged investors to use the official website, assetzcapital.co.uk rather than the cloned site that is using the domain name assetzcapital.eu, and to be careful when entering login details.

The lender said it has informed the police, the Financial Conduct Authority and other relevant organisations and is taking urgent steps to have the cloned site removed as soon as possible.

There are also a number of fake social media accounts linked to the site, which Assetz is working to remove. Assetz Capital has told users to contact its investor team if they need any help or assistance.

Zopa warned last year of a growing number of scam operators targeting UK customers using its name to dupe investors. The platform flagged up a series of warning signs for investors to watch out for if scammers contacted them by phone call or email.

They include: asking customers directly for their Zopa login details; claiming to work with companies investing money in Bitcoin or other cryptocurrencies; or working with companies who would ask them to take out a Zopa loan to fund an investment.